Toru Takemitsu Composition Award

Der TORE TAKEMITSU KOMPOSITIONSWETTBEWERB lädt jedes Jahr junge Komponistinnen und Komponisten aus aller Welt ein, neu geschaffene Werke für Orchester einzureichen. Die Einreichfrist für den Award 2022 läuft bis zum 30. September 2021.

Framework of the Award

The orchestral composition competition will take place in the following years. Young composers from all over the world are urged to submit their newly created works during their preferred competition year (may enter multiple years).


  • 2022 Brian Ferneyhough (United Kingdom)
  • 2023 Jo Kondo (Japan)
  • 2024 Mark-Anthony Turnage (United Kingdom)


Preliminary Screening: The judge will screen the submitted scores and select a certain number of works to be performed.

Final Selection: Those works selected during the preliminary screening will be performed in concert (“Final Concert”) at the Tokyo Opera City Concert Hall: Takemitsu Memorial, and the year’s award will be decided by the judge following the performance (see [Final Concert and Other Information]).


Cash Award: the total sum of 3,000,000 Yen, each year.
The judge may withhold the prize (i.e. in absence of a suitable entry) or divide the prize among multiple entries. The composers whose works are selected to be performed at the final selection will be invited to attend the concert.

Detailed Informations: